Consumed by the pieces

My heart, my desires what burns with in me. What consumes me. Can you dare to give it a title. If you speak it from your lips will you give it life?  Will it make it real? 

What comes after? What is right and wrong? How do you know which way to go? You just know. 

Intuitively you know how things will generally go. But how do you stop yourself from going down that road anyway?

I can’t, I don’t want to. My mind says just a little more. My heart says a lot more. I am greedy, yet I know it will consume me. 

There are no breaks. You can’t be a glutton and only eat one donut. Can’t be an addict and only do one line. Walk away completely or stay for one more. Who are you fooling?  Deep down you know what you’re doing. 

It’s got you. Your in the throws of what consumes you. Your mind only wants one thing and it thinks survival depends on it. Deep down you know it maybe what keeps you happy now, but in the end will kill.

Little by little pieces of you fall away….what was left of you wasn’t whole to begin with. Yet what consumes you had the rest of your pieces hidden away.  You hope they all fit back together but something doesn’t quit feel right. You can’t look away. You can’t walk away. Your consumed already. They won’t fit, yet we keep trying. Time tranforms us and we change shape. 

I see all new shiny piece. I want to try to fit them all back together.  I just don’t think I will survive the trying.  The consuming of my trying leads to dangerous place in my mind. I can’t pull myself away from it and I don’t want to. But shouldn’t I,  if that is all I can think about when I try.

Leave a Reply

